Developing the Research Proposal

I am in the middle of finalising my research proposal which will outline the focus and plan for the next 2+ years. In upcoming posts I will share different sections of the proposal. This week I will share a list of questions that I found useful in developing the proposal:

INTRODUCTION/JUSTIFICATION

  • What is the subject and aim of the research?
  • What phenomenon is a concern for the target group? Who is affected?
  • What do other researchers say? What evidence is there?
  • What does this research aim to do?
  • Is it relevant? Is it feasible? Why is this research interesting?
  • What are the benefits? What is my contribution?

RESEARCH PROBLEM

  • What does the literature say about this problem? What are the possible causes?
  • What are the variables? What is the population?
  • What are the gaps in the literature?
  • Why am I doing this research? Or why would someone else want to?
  • What am I going to do about this problem? What is unique about my idea?

THEORETICAL/EMPIRICAL FRAMEWORK

  • What do previous studies say? Where are there disagreements?
  • What models are relevant?
  • What concepts am I going to explore? What definitions do I accept?
  • How do I group possible answers or variables?

OBJECTIVES AND PROBLEMS

  • What are the objectives?
  • What are the related problems?

METHODOLOGY

  • What is the research paradigm?
  • Which methods am I going to use and why?
  • Are these methods valid and reliable?
  • Why do I think this is the best method? What are the weaknesses?

SAMPLING

  • What is my population and sample?
  • How will I define my sample? Why this way?

DATA TECHNIQUES AND INSTRUMENTS

  • Where will the data come from?
  • How will I collect it? What methods will I use?
  • Why these methods? Are they valid and reliable?

DATA ANALYSIS

  • What is the unit of analysis?
  • What is the coding process?
  • What tools will I use? Why?

STUDY LIMITATIONS

  • Where are the limitations in the research?
  • What are sampling issues? What are methodology issues?

CONTRIBUTIONS AND EXPECTED RESULTS

  • What am I going to achieve?
  • What will my findings be? What are the possible outcomes?
  • Who will this be useful for?
Leave a Reply

